Emma

I’m Emma, your Indonesian host. I was born near Yogyakarta on the island of Java. In 2018, I decided to leave my job in the fashion industry in Paris to devote myself entirely to welcoming tourists and professionals passing through the region.

Having remained very attached to my culture, I would like to make people discover my country through the exotic atmosphere of our guest house and the decoration of the rooms by island (Java, Bali, Lombok, Borneo, Florès…).

The “table d’hôtes” (dinner table) that I propose follows the same logic: it aims to make you discover Indonesian specialties, cooking being my passion: nasi goreng, rendang, opor ayam, soto, lemper, etc., so many exotic names that will bring back memories or make you discover a surprising cuisine. I also give Indonesian cooking classes at the Inter-age University of Melun.

Sampai jumpa lagi (see you soon)!

Franck

I am Franck, originally from Lyon, but expatriated in the Paris region for more than 20 years, when I was recruited on a Lecturer position at the University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. I am now a full professor of Physical and Environmental Geography, specialising in risks and natural disasters. As my research work is mainly focused on volcanoes and tsunamis, you will easily understand why I have spent -and continue to spend- so much time in Indonesia, such a fascinating country! I met Emma 25 years ago during my PhD thesis on the Merapi volcano.

Our two children, Axel (21) and Livia (16) are artists, just like their mother (I decline all responsibility!). Axel is a professional photographer, and a musician (guitar, piano…). He is a composer in different musical styles, and a singer in a metal band (Glass Castle). Livia is a high school student, and her passion is drawing (since she was a child…). Her world is a bit heroic fantasy. She paints in particular on tee-shirts, and also composes lyrics for several bands.

Emma

Je suis Emma, votre hôte indonésienne. Je suis née près de Yogyakarta, sur l’île de Java. En 2018, j’ai décidé de quitter mon emploi dans la mode à Paris pour me consacrer entièrement à l’accueil des touristes et des professionnels de passage dans la région.

Etant restée très attachée à ma culture, je souhaite en effet faire découvrir mon pays à travers l’atmosphère exotique de notre maison d’hôtes et la décoration des chambres par île (Java, Bali, Lombok, Bornéo, Florès…).

La table d’hôtes que je propose suit la même logique : elle vise à vous faire découvrir des spécialités indonésiennes, la cuisine étant ma passion : nasi goreng, rendang, opor ayam, soto, lemper, etc., autant de noms exotiques qui vous rappelleront des souvenirs ou qui vous feront découvrir une cuisine surprenante. Je donne aussi des cours de cuisine indonésienne à l’Université Inter-âge de Melun.

Sampai jumpa lagi (à très bientôt) !

Franck

Je suis Franck, d’origine lyonnaise, mais expatrié en région parisienne depuis plus de 20 ans, quand j’ai été recruté sur un poste d’enseignant-chercheur à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Je suis Professeur de Géographie physique et environnementale, spécialisé sur les risques et les catastrophes naturelles. Mes travaux de recherche portant principalement sur les volcans et les tsunamis, vous comprendrez facilement pourquoi j’ai passé et continue de passer autant de temps en Indonésie, un pays si fascinant. C’est pendant ma thèse sur le volcan Merapi que j’ai rencontré Emma il y a 25 ans.

Nos deux enfants, Axel (21 ans) et Livia (16 ans) sont des artistes, tout comme leur mère (je décline toute responsabilité !). Axel est musicien (guitare, piano…) et photographe. Il est aussi compositeur dans différents styles musicaux, et chanteur dans un groupe de métal (Glass Castle). Livia est lycéenne, et sa passion est le dessin (depuis toute petite…). Son monde, c’est un peu heroic fantasy. Elle compose aussi des paroles de chansons pour plusieurs groupes.