Located at the exit of Melun on the national road leading to Fontainebleau, the village of La Rochette was founded in the Middle Ages. It extends following the installation in the 18th century of Baron François-Thomas Moreau de la Rochette, director of the farms of King Louis XV, whose heirs lived in the castle until the 20th century.
In 1925, Louis de La Rochette sold part of his land near Melun, the wood of the Ermitage, which was transformed into a housing estate. At that time, the Fontainebleau road became one of the most smart places in the Melun conurbation.
In 1934 the Parisian architect A. Dumesny built along this road, still bordered by two shaded bridle paths, a neo-Norman style house, which he called Le Mesnil.
Le Mesnil is based on the model of the “Affolantes” of the banks of the Seine River, these large bourgeoisie houses with an atypical charm that inspired many artists in the second half of the 19th century . The ground floor, made of ashlar, raised by a few steps, supports a first floor with wine-coloured half-timbered ceilings, while the three bedrooms on the second floor were built under fitted attics. The complex silhouette of the complex makes the house picturesque, especially the small tower above the imposing main entrance.
At the end of the 20th century, a doctor bought the house and decided to enlarge it to make it his own medical practice, with an independent entrance. The original Mesnil garage, with its massive stone walls, became the waiting room, while the extension was dedicated to consultations. This complex, completely renovated in 2018, now forms the appartment of Apakabar Homestay, whose roof has been converted into terrace for the guest house.